August Update

Meetings this summer have provided an opportunity for NAVIS participants to meet up in person.  At IUGG in Prauge Fiamma Straneo organized a dinner (pictured here), and Alice Marzocchi organized dinner at RAPID in Southampton.  IMG_0721Alice reported “We had a really good group of 20 people or so, mostly graduate students, but also some of the PIs (Gerard McCarthy, Johannes Karstensen, Stefan Gary and Helen Johnson) and we had a nice dinner in one of Bristol’s floating pubs”

In addition to meetups, NAVIS has continued its webinar series this summer.  In late June Gerard McCarthy gave a talk titled: “Insights and impacts: the first 10 years of continuous observations of the Atlantic overturning circulation. His talk is now available on the NAVIS website: http://navinstitute.org/resources/webinars/

The next NAVIS Webinar will be on Thursday, August 27th at 10:00am EDT (3:00pm BST/4:00pm CEST). Gokhan Danabasoglu will discuss AMOC in climate models. We hope you will join us! 

Bristol